Libraries Week focus: ebooks

 

Today we’re highlighting our ebook collection for Libraries Week. We have a truly fantastic ebook service at Edinburgh Libraries offering you access to 12,500 titles for adults, teens and kids. You’ll find a wide range of genres in fiction and non-fiction – there’s definately something for everyone!

Our OverDrive system makes it super easy for you to find and borrow books whether through their fantastic Libby app on your tablet or phone or their website on your computer. Some of our favourite things about OverDrive are-

  1. It’s super-easy to get started – just login with your library card and PIN
  2. You can borrow from anywhere – at home, on the bus, or on the beach in Spain
  3. You can change the font / size / background colour to suit your own eyesight
  4. New stock is added twice a month to keep the site fresh
  5. You can borrow ten titles (in addition to your physical loans from the library)
  6. When the library is closed – OverDrive is open! Its like having a library branch in your own home
  7. There is a dyslexic font available
  8. You can access a great range of specialised collections – Reading Well for Mental Health,  LGBT, Bibliotherapy, Read-a-long ebook/audiobooks for children
  9. As well as ebooks there’s audiobooks and comics on OverDrive
  10. You’ll find Polish ebooks and audiobooks available too

OverDrive is incredibly easy to use and you’ll find full user
instructions available on our Your Library website. Or why not pop in to our drop-in sessions at Central Library every Tuesday from 2-3.30pm where you can get help setting up your mobile device and all your questions answered.

This summer’s Big Library Read

Travel through history along with millions of readers during Big Library Read, the world’s largest digital book club! From 17th June – 1st July, book-lovers can borrow LP Fergusson’s harrowing wartime love story, A Dangerous Act of Kindness, from Edinburgh Libraries OverDrive service as an ebook with no waitlists or holds.

A Dangerous Act of Kindness is a beautiful, harrowing love story, perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Santa Montefiore. It tells the story of widow Millie Sanger, who finds injured enemy pilot Lukas Schiller on her farm during World War II. Compassionate Millie knows Lukas will be killed if discovered and makes the dangerous decision to offer him shelter from the storm. On opposite sides of the inescapable conflict, the two strangers forge an unexpected and passionate bond. But as the snow thaws, the relentless fury of World War II forces them apart, leaving only the haunting memories of what they shared, and an understanding that their secret must never see light.

The ebook will be available on the home page of Libby/OverDrive apps and the OverDrive website from the 17th June and with unlimited downloads is perfect for discussing with your friends and family. You can also join an online conversation about the book at BigLibraryRead.com and if you use #biglibraryread on social media you’ll be entered into a draw to win a Kobo Aura H20 ebook reader! All you need is library membership so you can login with your library card and PIN. Full instructions for using OverDrive can be found on our Your Library website.

Big Library Read – Digital Book Group

We’ll be having another Big Library Read from 1st-15th April on OverDrive! Unlimited people can download the ebook version of this very topical autobiography called  Homes: A Refugee Story by Abu Bakr al Rabeeah & Winnie Yeung. Read the story of Abu Bakr who along with his family left their home in Iraq in hope of a safer life, but they moved to Syria – just before the Syrian civil war broke out. Homes is the remarkable true story of how a young boy emerged from a war zone – and eventually found safety in Canada.

The ebook will be available on the home page of the OverDrive website and Libby/OverDrive apps from the 1st April and with unlimited downloads is perfect for discussing with your friends and family. You can join an online conversation about the book at BigLibraryRead.com. All you need is library membership so you can login with your library card and PIN. Full instructions for using OverDrive can be found on our Your Library website.

Top Ten eBooks

Ever wondered just what people read on our OverDrive eBook service? Well here’s the current top ten most popular online books with our readers –

Becoming by Michelle Obama

The biography from the former American First Lady is top of our charts.Looking like this is going to be our most popular ebook ever! Is also the most popular audiobook too (available through RBdigital).

 

Past Tense by Lee Child

Find out about Jack Reacher’s latest escapades. Our readers can’t get enough of Lee Child novels, which is why you’ll find 66 of his ebooks and audiobooks available on OverDrive. Also available on BorrowBox as audiobook.

 

Normal People by Sally Rooney

Winning prizes all over the place, this is the book of the moment. Follow the story of Connell and Marianne who grow up in a small town in rural Ireland and how their relationship effects their lives as they move in to adulthood. Audiobook also available on RBdigital.

 

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

THE book of 2018 – if you’ve not read it yet, then why?! Meet Eleanor who has learned how to survive – but not how to live and follow her as life comes knocking on her door. Also available on RBdigital as audiobook.

 

Mythos by Stephen Fry

A surprising, but enchanting hit in both ebook and audiobook format – Stephen Fry vividly retells the tales of the Greek Gods in an entertaining and enthusiastic manner.

 

 

This is Going to Hurt by Adam Kay

This will make you laugh, it will also make you cry, but perhaps most importantly it will make you think. This diary of a junior doctor opens a window into the NHS from the other side and you’ll never think about it the same way again. Also available as audiobook on BorrowBox.

 

Milkman by Anna Burns

Another highly acclaimed novel, that tackles the Northern Ireland conflict from the perspective of an 18-year-old girl with no interest in the troubles, who’s aim is to stay as invisible as possible. As available on RBdigital as audiobook.

 

Transcription by Kate Atkinson

Another bestselling novel from one of Scotland’s top writers. In 1940, Juliet Armstrong is reluctantly recruited into MI5. After the war she presumes the events of those years are over, but soon learns that there are no actions without consequences. Also available on BorrowBox as audiobook.

 

The Little Cafe in Copenhagen by Julie Caplin

Glad to see our readers like a little light-hearted romance too!  Described as “Danish happiness and hygge in one un-put-down-able story” this is the perfect read for a chilly night.

 

 

The Subtle Art of not Giving a F*ck by Mark Manson

Well last in our line up is a self-help book with a difference (hence the title!). It’s a much-needed grab you by the shoulders and look you in the eye moment of real-talk, filled with entertaining stories and profane, ruthless humour. Available on OverDrive as ebook and audiobook..

 

So surprised at our top ten? Or hopefully impressed by the great choice of acclaimed and popular titles available now to download! Access these titles from our Libby or OverDrive apps or the OverDrive website. Full instructions for using our ebook service can be found at www.edinburgh.gov.uk/overdrive.

Together We Read!

Our ebook supplier OverDrive, are holding another UK Together We Read digital book club, giving unlimited access to a popular ebook from the 1-15 November.

They’ve chosen a brilliant title this time – Circe by Madeline Miller, which scores 4.4 stars on Good Reads and is a Guardian “Must Read” title of 2018! This is the latest novel from Orange Prize winner Miller, who continues with her previous theme of Greek mythology. Circe, daughter of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, has neither the look nor the voice of divinity, and is scorned and rejected by her kin. Increasingly isolated, she turns to mortals for companionship, leading her to discover a power forbidden to the gods: witchcraft. It’s an intoxicating tale of gods and heroes, magic and monsters, survival and transformation!

As usual the ebook can be accessed on tablet, smartphone, computer or ereader (except regular Kindles!) and full instructions can be found on our OverDrive help pages. Why not encourage your friends and family to read it too and host your own book group get-together!

For further information contact informationdigital@edinburgh.gov.uk or 0131 242 8047

Listen to your book group!

Are you part of a book group or maybe thinking of starting one up? Why not try something different and listen to an audiobook this month instead of reading a printed book?

Our audiobook service RBdigital, has over 1000 multi-access titles meaning unlimited people can listen at the same time.

   

 

 

 

 

You’ll find it a great talking point, discussing the effect that the narrator has on your understanding and enjoyment of the story.

  

 

 

 

 

Browse through our Excel list of multi-access audiobooks today, you’ll be spoilt for choice!

Zoe Ball Book Club

We are excited to hear that there’s to be a new TV book club hosted by Zoe Ball starting on ITV the 17th June – perfect if you’re not able to go along to one yourself!

And even better, you can borrow some of the featured titles from our downloadable library services! –

I Am, I Am, I Am by Maggie O’Farrell

Available to download as audiobook from RBdigital

 

 

 

A Necessary Evil by Abir Mukherjee

Available to download as ebook and audiobook from OverDrive

 

 

 

The Sealwoman’s Gift by Sally Magnusson

Available to download on audiobook from uLIBRARY

 

 

 

The Summer of Impossible Things by Rowan Coleman

Available to download as ebook from OverDrive and audiobook from RBdigital

 

 

The Silent Companions by Laura Purcell

Available to download as ebook  from OverDrive

 

 

 

Killer Intent by Tony Kent

Available to download as ebook from OverDrive

 

 

 

Dark Pines by Will Dean

Available to download as ebook from OverDrive

 

 

 

This is Going To Hurt by Adam Kay

Available to download as ebook from OverDrive

 

 

 

Fancy starting your own book group – did you know you can borrow sets of books from the library? Find out how by reading the Book Group Collections blog post.