Myplace: Edinburgh Competition Winners

The judging panel had the very difficult task of choosing 3 winners from nearly 100 fantastic competition entries for Myplace: Edinburgh, part of the celebration of the Year of Innovation, Architecture and Design 2016.

The combination of photograph and the memory it evoked made these 3 entries the winners.

You can see all the entries on Edinburgh Collected

First Prize – Granton Pier

Photograph of Granton Pier

by arghnothingworks

‘As someone born in Edinburgh there are many places that I have wonderful memories that I cherish.

One place stands out above all of those. Granton. While it’s not a spectacular towering monolith or an aging building featured in tour guides, it is a special and unique part of Edinburgh.

This place is special to me because it reminds me of spending time with my father and uncle. Waking up early and walking down to the harbour as a boy. Hopping and walking down the pier taking care not to lose my footing on the quarry rock. Placing our small radio down and learning to cast a fishing rod. Wearing my gloves and hat when it got chilly and walking back tired to the bus stop.

It’s been years since my father passed away and many more since I’ve been fishing. I was overjoyed to see that even at night people still enjoy going down to the pier to fish. While it may seem a small part of everyday life, these people are undoubtably crafting memories that they will one day look back on remembering the good and the bad.

I still have those precious memories of walking down the pier with my father. Hopefully I’ll never lose those, and hopefully this will always be a place I can go to relive those memories.’

Second Prize – Sunset at Portobello Beach

Portobello Beach

by createdeye

‘I don’t think there’s a better place in Edinburgh to watch the sunset than Portobello Beach. It’s peaceful, calm and there are usually not many people around. And when the sunset is like this, well, what more can you say?’

Third Prize – Rush hour

Photograph of Scottish Parliament and Dynamic earth

by Mrgu82

‘Arthur Seat has always been a place for me to get away from the fast pace of city life.’

Prizes are kindly donated by the Festival of Architecture 2016 and are awarded for  1st prize (£200),  2ndprize (£100)  and  3rd prize (£50).

You can still visit Edinburgh’s Pavilion at the Cities Expo part of the year long Festival at the Mound until Sunday 17 July.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

